University of Crete Island of Crete

The International Symposium on Equatorial Aeronomy (ISEA) is a single-session meeting taking place about every four years with an attendance between 100 and 150 scientists from all over the world. The first ISEA was held in Peru, in 1962, and the most recent one (ISEA-11) in Taiwan, in 2005. The meeting is a major event in the field of upper atmospheric and ionospheric science and serves as a forum for scientists to report and discuss research results and progress relating to the physics of the mesosphere, thermosphere and ionosphere at equatorial, low- and mid-latitudes.

During the week-long ISEA-12, there will be scientific sessions dedicated to: Lower and middle atmosphere dynamics, MLT region and thermospheric dynamics, Ionospheric electrodynamics, Atmosphere - ionosphere coupling, E and F region plasma irregularities and instabilities, E- and F-region space weather effects and diagnostics, New trends, techniques and experiments, Important scientific issues and future directions. In addition, there will also be an introductory session with tutorials given by leading experts in the field.

ISEA-12 will take place at the Knossos Royal Hotel, near Heraklion, Crete, Greece, from May 18 to 24, 2008.

The ISEA 12 Organizing committee: Christos Haldoupis, Chair, (University of Crete, Greece), Jorge Chau (Jicamarca Observatory, Peru), Erhan Kudeki (University of Illinois at Urbana, USA), Jonathan Makela (University of Illinois at Urbana, USA), Dora Pancheva (University of Bath, UK), Akinori Saito (Kyoto University, Japan).


National Science Foundation   European Office of Aerospace R&D   Aerospace Corporation   COMMITTEE ON SPACE RESEARCH (COSPAR)   SCOSTEP   International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics   The International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA)   INTERNATIONAL UNION OF RADIO SCIENCE (URSI)   International Committee on Global Navigation Satellite Systems   Ministry of National Education and Religious Affairs   John S. Latsis Public Benefit Foundation   University Of Crete, Physics Department   Agricultural Bank of Greece   Hellenic Telecommunications Organization   LARCO
Jicamarca Radio Observatory

Arecibo Observatory

MU Radar

Equatorial Atmosphere Radar

Gadanki Radar

Imaging Radars


© 2006 Computer Center